You Have To Know

I feel the sunlight
It’s shining on me
The rays are bright
Shooting through me
Lying next to
Your warm body
You know it’s true
You’ll always have me
But now you caught me
Checking on you
Are you still waiting
But what did you do
To kill the day
No matter how close
You’re too far away
If feel the sunlight
It warms my soul
I’d cuff you here
If you tried to go
I feel the distance
Like needles stabbing
You have to know
You’ll always have me
The sheets are light
Where have you been
Cool breezy night
Silence threatening
I wrote all day
Could you feel it
The words around you
It’s all about you
I have the feeling
You’re always fleeing
You have to know 
You’ll always have me
I wrote the passages
To the life you’re living
I’m the author
You’re my ink
The sky it opens
I feel the sun
It shoots right through us
I feel we’re lifted
Jettisoned into space
New life we’re gifted
You say that I’m 
Your creation
I say that I’m
Your salvation

No matter what, love
I’ll always be here
I need your eyes
To push away fear
The sun is burning
But were still basking
This spirit is temporal
But I’m not trying
To tan my soul
I’m looking at you
Your skin is fire
I’m just a friend
But I’m a liar
I burn for you
Every moment
Every cloudy day
There is nothing
That you can say
Nothing darling
Can push me away
You have to know
You’ll always have me
I just have to accept
I’ll never have you
I count the images
In my mind
Of your face
You’re so enlightened
Your crystal collection
Your box of stars
I’ll never truly
Know who you are
But we can lay
In this bed
Countless lives
Lived in our head
I want to believe
I belong to you
If I were fantasy
Would you have written me
I’ll stay here
My face in pillows
Dream of you
God only knows
How many words
I could write about you
Filled up my soul
I’ll pour it out
Right here
Cause you have to know
You’ll always have me
Eyes like gemstones
Do I have to yell
Aren’t the words written
Enough to know
You have to know
You’ll always have me
I just have to accept
I’ll never have you

Poem is mine. Image is not.
Leave a Reply

