THE PROMISE

Were you a part of me
Or were you just a distraction?

It fills me full of pain to say this
And I hope you never read this
After all it was me who insisted
That you entertain the idea of you and I

I made you pull away from him

If it was only for a for a lie
Then what kind of man am I

I wanted deliverance
From a situation imperfect
I wanted a friend
And you were a perfect fit
But listen to me
If these words ever reach you
It wasn’t my intention
To create all this tension

The promise that I made you
To take you to another land
Give you an existence
You can understand

Were you just a fantasy
Or were you a new reality?

It fills me with regret to say this
But I would have ran away with you
And we could have trashed the world behind us
Burned it all to the ground for something new

But when we were finally alone
Would we have thought we were finally home
Or would we have seen the ashes
Of the people we’d left in dust
Falling on the floor around us

The promise that you made
To take me to another land
Give me an existence
I can understand

The things you wrote
That made my heart emote
You did it without thinking
You did it with a smile
How could you know it would make me
Crawl one thousand miles
On glass just to kiss you
Feel your skin upon my face
I felt like I just missed you
While someone else took my place

I knew I’d never get you to trust me
As much as I did you
My face was hidden and it hurt to see
The things he put you through
But even then I prayed
He would make you happy
Even though I knew that the cracks in your heart
Could only be healed by me

Of course that’s how I wanted it to be

To love you into a life
Without chemical dependence
I could never explain clearly
Feel like I mostly never made sense
I feel like I mostly never made sense

The promise I made you
To take you to another land
Give you an existence
You can understand

Maybe it all just got out of hand


Poem is mine. Image is HERE.

Leave a Reply

