CIGARETTES & DEATH

I don’t know what’s in your mind
But cigarettes and death
And you might kick the habit
When you can’t catch your next breath
And pick it up again when you catch the train
On your way to meet me because
You don’t want to see me again
After the fallout

Now whenever I call out
I find only your ghost in my memory
And I’d be lying to say I wasn’t happy
To see what you’ve done with your eyebrows
And how the look on your face does arouse
In me the sense that things aren’t finished between us

I can’t wait to smell you
And the magic potions they put in your lotions
So you might as well smoke
I’ll be here when you choke
To smile and say that I told you so

But I want you to know
I’d crack a bloody hammer on your head
To see the words you’ve never said
So don’t hide them to yourself
In a colored glass jar up on your shelf
Just take a puff because enough is enough
Loving you was always rough

Let’s just get back to where
You don’t mind me when I’m near
I feel like a creeper when I just sit and stare
But sightings of you have become quite rare
I don’t know what’s in your mind
But cigarettes and death
And hopefully me
Maybe I’ll find out in your next breath

Poem is mine. Image is not.
2 thoughts on “CIGARETTES & DEATH

Leave a Reply

