In Dreams of Dust I Think of Us

I’m asleep
I know because I recognize this strange sky from my youth
Dust has covered my old world
The trees are still alive, though their color is muted
I walk over to the bench and sit down looking into the horizon,
sitting where I dreamt you into existence
I take my finger and write your name in the fine powder that has settled on the wood
How long has it been since I’ve been here
And yet every detail is perfect in my minds eye
A beautiful place to escape to
But when you realize that some dreams will never come true
It becomes a place more of pain than of joy
I blow your name away, the dust making me cough
Maybe I should clean this place up
Stay awhile
Maybe not
Maybe just till I wake up
Lately I’ve preferred not dreaming at all

Leave a Reply

