Someone I Used To Know

Someone I used to know
Might have told me something
That’s stayed with me to this day
Without me even realizing

I was happy and alive
And may have never felt the cut
When you were no longer with me
The snap as my heart closed shut

The moment we fly
The ground will no longer be good enough
When we feel the soft clouds against our skin
The dust in the air will be too rough

Someone I used to know
Whispered something in my ear one day
I’ll spend all my life trying to remember
Is it what made me live this way?

The softness of your lips
As they caressed my lobe
The sweetness of your breathe
Filling me with hope

Maybe I will never recall the words said
In a magic moment all too fleeting
Secrets passed in the dead of night
Words from poems that you were reading

I soared when you were near
I crawled when I was alone 
Someone I used to know
Long before I had grown

Someone I used to know
Had some important words to say
That stayed with me 
May have made me who I am today

Poem is mine. Image is not.

2 thoughts on “Someone I Used To Know

Leave a Reply

