Recourse

You are my delusion
Unsettling confusing
Angelic aspiration
You are my destination
Scarred revelation
Emotional frustration
You are my goddess of creation

The asphalt under my tires
The fault line as it conspires
To crack right beneath me
Suck me into void

You are my haven

The desert out my window
Vultures begging for my bones
With beady greedy eyes
Threatening malice

You are my heaven

The moon above me
Shining with intent
To wink out behind the clouds
Leaving me in darkness

You are my destiny

As I empty myself
Of all these useless words
An exercise in futility
You are not my haven
Not my heaven
My destiny

You are my delusion
My beautiful illusion
I have no remorse
This is my only recourse

You are my delusion
Unsettling confusing
Angelic aspiration
You are my destination
Scarred revelation
Emotional frustration
You are my goddess of creation

Art “Delusion” by Maarten Kleyne http://www.mkleyne.com

5 thoughts on “Recourse

  1. This is really good! The rhythm and the rhyme are great. I enjoyed the way you change from “you are my haven” to “you are not my haven” and then returned to the first stanza as though nothing had changed. Very effective. Sort of hypnotic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

