The Cold Loveliness of Space

What is it like to hang from stars
Touch the walls of space
See it spin around
The galaxy in flux
The way the time seems to stretch
And memory fades away
The truth that lies within
Leaves me in a crux

And you want to know
Why I want to know
The secrets that you keep
The thoughts you hide away
The nightmares while you sleep

What is it like to hang from stars
Inspect the elements of creation
Watch galaxies being formed
And watch the world
Change shape
And as it spins
Feel gravity lift
And throw you out
Into the cold
Loveliness of space

And I suddenly realize
We can leave this place
Escape the solar flares
Threatening our forms
Make our way to Pluto
Surf in Jupiters storms

And we can leave this place
Escape the insincere 
And leave behind
Our earthly fears

And you want to know
Why I read the words
That feed my soul
Why do I grab on so tight
Just to let go
Build my castle tall
Just to leave this place
Smile as my face as I’m
Thrown into the cold loveliness of space

This place is more than I can bear
But the silent loneliness of space
Calls me
Enthralls me
I hope you join me
I want you always near
You should bring a few books dear
Because It might get boring out there

PIA09178-1920x1200.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

