Wavy Lines

It’s not like night
Has ever been very kind
Now you caught me once again
With all these wavy lines
Tracing your adventures
On the back of old maps
And you’re by the front door
Playing with your boot straps

I feel the cold breeze
Through the crack in the door
How long will it be
Till I see you once more

And it’s not like your words
Have ever been unkind
But tonight I feel the cold wind
In my bones
And I wouldn’t mind but
You’ve caught me
With all these wavy lines
Writing your adventures
In dusty old books

I knew you’d be going soon
I could read it in your looks

I look to the sunset
Just hoping to forget
But it’s like these memories
Are too beautiful to let
Slip into the far distant night
I’m always seeing you dancing
In visions that haunt the shadows
Forever hidden from the light

And all your wavy adventures
Might have left the taste of the undiscovered
Lingering just below the surface of my skin
But I know I’ll be right here
When you come back again

I am kind of bothered
Here sitting by the door
How long will it be
Till I see you once more

I float through life
But you’re a ship
Forever sailing
I’m on the porch
Safe from the rain
Your dancing in puddles
Vanishing in glimmering rainbows
I’m just hoping
I can catch a vision of you
And hold it in my brain

You’ll always be
My greatest adventure

13591591-an-old-brass-compass-on-a-treasure-map-background-stock-photo

 

Leave a Reply

