Inevitably a Corpse

Sun falls behind the mountains
Coastline dissolves into the sea
Truth becomes a lie
And my darling
I was born to die

Could not turn back the clock
The wrinkles are too deep
These dusty bones are just too dry
So my darling
I was born to die

I’ve walked these roads too many times
My shadow always behind me
Souls too worn to deny
My darling
I was born to die

I’m like the tattered pages
Of your book
Reread so many times
But barely worth a look
At the end of my road
Found me half in the grave
A near dried up river
Too far gone to save

Your tender hand upon my face
No feeling could describe
My crooked ghost takes of to fly
Goodbye my darling
I was born to die

78951142213908463106

 

Leave a Reply

